The Centre Party nominated their first set of candidates in November. Current MEPs Elsi Katainen and Mirja Vehkaperä are standing again but Anneli Jäätteenmäki is leaving the parliament.

Other candidates are the Centre Party’s longtime MP and former Minister Mauri Pekkarinen, MP Pekka Puska, the chair of the city board of the Kaajani Teuvo Hatva and Politician’s assistants Janne Kaisanlahti and Anna Sirkiä. Also the Member of the Board of the Centre Party Annina Ruottu, Principal Legal Counsel at European Central Bank Petra Schulze Steinen, Director Raul Kajak and student Juho Kekäläinen.

Politician Mikko Kärnä has not yet decided if he will be running for parliamentary or EU-elections next spring. Former MEP Hannu Takkula was elected as a Member of the EU Court of Auditors in November. MEP Paavo Väyrynen left EP to continue his work in the Finnish Parliament.


Centre Party (Kesk.)

Elsi Katainen, MEP

Mirja Vehkaperä, MEP

Mauri Pekkarinen

Pekka Puska

Teuvo Hatva

Janne Kaisanlahti

Raul Kajak

Juho Kekäläinen

Annina Ruottu

Petra Schulze Steinen

Anna Sirkiä

Swedish People’s Party (SFP/RKP)

MEP Nils Torvalds is standing for the elections again and his themes are climate policy and the unity of immigration.

Nils Torvalds, MEP

Ida-Maria Skytte – student

Max Schulman – agriculture expert

Anna Jungner-Nordgren – Chair of Women’s division of the party

Björn Bonsdorff – political expert