VVD  ( 3 MEPs)

Malik Azmani  will head the list. He has been a MP since 2010 and is Chairman of the European Affairs committee. He created the  ‘Plan Azmani’ that aims to give shelter to refugees closer to the region they are originally from (e.g. Turkey).

The other tops spots are given to returning MEPs, Jan Huitema (2nd) and Caroline Nagtegaal-van Doorn (3rd) . The VVD are likely to keep their 5 seats.

The current VVD party leader in the EP, Hans van Baalen will not stand again but will remain the chairman of the ALDE party.

VVD list

1 Malik Azmani

2 Jan Huitema

3 Caroline Nagtegaal-van Doorn

4 Bart Groothuis

5 Liesje Schreinemacher

6 Catharina Rinzema

7 Roelien Kamminga

8 Martijn Grevink

9 Monique Fasol

10 Michael Pistecky


D66 (4 MEPs)

Sophie in ‘t Veld will head the part list for the elections, having beaten off her rival Marietje Schaake and Felix Klos. She is the only surviving member of the current 4 MEPs.

As a result of the vote, Schaake has decided not to run again.

Matthijs van Miltenburg, who had supported Schaake’s candidacy, will also stand down as he was not guaranteed a top spot.  Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy decided not to run again. He has said that 2 terms is enough and wants to spend more time with his family.

D66 list

1 Sophie in ´t Veld (reeds gekozen als lijsttrekker)

2 Raoul Boucke

3 Samira Rafaela

4 Felix Klos

5 John Nederstigt

6 Emily van de Vijver

7 Sjoerd Warmerdam

8 Raquel García Hermida-van der Walle

9 Susanne Caarls

10 Bastiaan Winkel