Commission Vice President Valdis Dombrovskis will run with Latvia’s New Unity party, which he set up together with new prime minister and former ITRE MEP Krišjānis Kariņš.  He plans however to use the election as a launchpad for another run as Commissioner, where he is looking to be given another economic role.

Inese Vaidere (party “Unity”)

– Joined after the resignation of Valdis Dombrovskis in November 1, 2014, and would like to run again.

Artis Pabriks (currently not representing any party)

– Artis Pabriks  was elected to the Latvian parliament in October and has stood down as MEP. he is likely to be replaced by Karlis Sadurskis, a former MEP and Minister of Education and Science.

Sandra Kalniete (party “Unity”)

– She announced that after the end of her term in EP she will leave politics to write her book.